Blu-ray Releases: August 30, 2011

It’s a solid week for Blu-ray variety.  There should be something for practically everyone as there’s good representation from the last few decades.  But let’s be honest, grabbing a copy of the Coen Collection, spanning the years between 1984 and 1996, is really the obvious choice.

Here are some of the other less-than-obvious releases for Tuesday, August 30, 2011:

  • Top Gun (1986)
  • Sons of Anarchy: Season Three (2010)
  • The Coen Brothers Collection (1984-1996)
  • Good Will Hunting (1997)
  • Raising Arizona (1987)
  • Millers Crossing (1990)
  • Blood Simple (1985)
  • The Perfect Host (2010)
  • In a Better World (2010)
  • Forks Over Knives (2011)
  • Final Destination 2 (2003)
  • Final Destination 3 (2006)
  • Gantz (2011)
  • Deadgirl (2008)
  • Bereavement (2010)
  • Skateland (2010)
  • Batman (1989)
  • The 10th Victim (1965)
  • Under Siege (1992)
  • The Wild Bunch (1969)
  • Shoot ‘Em Up (2007)
  • Semi-Pro (2008)
  • Fracture (2007)
  • Rumor Has It (2005)

Two weeks ago we were gifted with the Blu-ray edition of The Big Lebowski.  Now we have a golden opportunity to indulge our Coen senses even further with an outright collection.  Comprised of Blood Simple, Miller’s Crossing, Raising Arizona and Fargo we’re given the opportunity to own some of the best films of the last 25 years.  I absolutely adore all 4 titles that are available in both the Collection and individually but Blood Simple, for me, stands out above the rest.  To think that they started their careers with this movie is truly incredible.  To then follow it up with the likes of Raising Arizona and O Brother, Where Art Thou? and, more recently, Burn After Reading and True Grit;  Ethan and Joel Coen are simply film making geniuses.

Written by Bill Braun

Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook